Site Logo


Vermont soldiers born in Canada

Before the 1867 Confederation, the Province of Canada was split into two sections, Canada East or Lower Canada (Quebec) and Canada West or Upper Canada (Ontario). Throw in a few minor territories including Newfoundland, New Brunswick, Nova Scotia, and Prince Edward Island, and you have the birth place of about 2,740 Vermont soldiers in the Civil War (nearly 10.7% of the 25,6248 who served in Vermont units, and more than 5% of the high estimate of the 50,000 Canadians who particiated in the war).

Trivia: 125 soldiers were born in Montreal, Canada East (Quebec) alone; only 127 were born in all the other provinces put together.

"Confederation refers to the process of federal union in which the British North American colonies of Nova Scotia, New Brunswick and the Province of Canada joined together to form the Dominion of Canada. The term Confederation also stands for 1 July 1867, the date of the creation of the Dominion." Source: The Canadian Encyclopedia.

Select one of the following:

Canada East (Quebec) | Canada West (Ontario) | Newfoundland | New Brunswich | Nova Scotia | Prince Edward Island